Mystery No Longer-Strippy Surprise!

Standard

Last month, I tested some instructions for Jere’ Funk, one of the teachers at this past weekend’s Mississippi Quilt Association event.  She designed this mystery quilt and called it “Strippy Surprise”.  Since the MQA’s “June Gathering” event is now over, this is no longer a mystery! 

I used three fabrics — per the instructions.  This was soooo “not scrappy”! 

The “confident beginner” level made the quilt very easy to assemble.  Adding my time up, I think after cutting, the quilt can be assembled in a day.  The effort took several days–but I only worked on it about an hour at most during the evenings. 

I can honestly say that I have never “followed” instructions before (pre Quilter’s Academy”, of course), to make a quilt, and this was a very good experience for me.  Here is the end result draped over the futon in my sewing studio:

Here is another rendition by Anne Hindmarch, using a directional frog novelty fabric.

image

Another “first” for me was the pieced border.  I’ve never done one, and I was concerned that the border would be too long or too short and have to be eased, or adjusted somehow.  Not to worry!  My Quilter’s Academy lessons had taught me well!  The fit was PERFECT!   Thank you Harriet and Carrie Hargrove!

Best!
Claire

One response »

  1. Thanks for the mention, but extreme thanks for all of your help and comments with developing the pattern! The class would not have been the success it was without you.

Leave a Reply

